Friday, December 13, 2019
Follow us on
जापानी पीएम शिंजो आबे का प्रस्तावित भारत दौरा रद्दजापान पीएम शिंजो आबे का भारत दौरा रद्द होने पर बोलीं ममता बनर्जी, यह देश के लिए काला धब्बाअर्थव्यवस्था में सुधार के लिए कई कदम उठाए: वित्त मंत्री निर्मला सीतारमणदिल्ली: नागरिकता संशोधन कानून के खिलाफ जामिया मिलिया यूनिवर्सिटी के छात्रों का प्रदर्शनराज्यसभा की कार्यवाही अनिश्चितकाल के लिए स्थगितसुप्रीम कोर्ट में सोमवार को होगी आम्रपाली मामले की सुनवाईअसम: नागरिकता संशोधन कानून के खिलाफ ऑल असम स्टूडेंट्स यूनियन का प्रदर्शनकेरल: नागरिकता संशोधन कानून के खिलाफ CPM के नेताओं और कार्यकर्ताओं का प्रदर्शन

Poll results: Is rural India more ‘liberal’ than urban?

May 26, 2019 06:18 AM


Abhishek Jha and Roshan Kishore
Poll results: Is rural India more ‘liberal’ than urban?

NEWDELHI: The rise of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the post-2014 phase has often been seen as a threat to liberal values by a section among both anti-bjp political parties and civil society. In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, at least three candidates; Atishi in East Delhi, Kanhaiya Kumar in Begusarai and Prakash Raj in Bangalore Central became a mascot of sorts for people subscribing to this view. One could also add Bhopal to this list, where the BJP fielded Pragya Singh Thakur, who is facing terror charges. Digvijaya Singh from the Congress was her opponent on this seat. All these seats were won by the BJP in 2014.

The BJP has won all these seats in 2019 as well. In two of these seats, Begusarai and East Delhi, the BJP’S vote share has actually increased between 2014 and 2019. To be sure, part of the increase in BJP’S vote share in Begusarai could be due to the return of Janata Dal (United) to the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) in Bihar. In Bhopal and Bangalore Central, there has been a marginal decline in BJP’S vote share, though it continues to be more than 50%.

Among the anti-bjp candidates in these four seats, Digvijaya Singh has garnered the highest vote share. He is followed by Kanhaiya Kumar, Atishi and Prakash Raj. While Atishi and Kumar were fielded by the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and the Communist Party of India (CPI), Raj contested as an independent.

In terms of increase in vote share compared to 2014, the Congress has made the biggest gain in Bhopal, where it has increased its vote share by around five percentage points between 2014 and


In Begusarai, the CPI has increased its vote share from

17.8% in 2014 to 22% in 2019. To be sure, the 4.2 percentage point increase in the CPI’S vote share is an underestimate here because it contested the 2014 elections in an alliance with the JD(U). In East Delhi, the AAP has suffered a 15 percentage point decline in vote share between 2014 and 2019. Because Prakash Raj contested as an independent, all of his vote can be considered to be a net gain over 2014.

These trends actually correspond to a larger pattern. The increase in vote share of the candidates/parties who became liberal mascots in these four seats is inversely related with the share of urban population in these seats, suggests an HT analysis. A parliamentary constituencywise ranking by share of urban population by How India Lives using the 2011 census shows that East Delhi (15) was the most urban seat among these followed by Bangalore Central (27), Bhopal (53) and Begusarai (327).

This explanation holds for BJP’S vote shares in India’s metropolitan centres as well. Contested vote share of the BJP in Lok Sabha seats situated in Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata and Chennai has been significantly higher in

2014 and 2019 than what it was in

2009. In Delhi and Kolkata seats, this figure has increased by 10 percentage points or more between 2014 and 2019. Even though the BJP’S contested vote share has come down marginally in Mumbai between 2014 and

2019, it continues to be more than

60%. The party did not contest any seats in Chennai in 2019. The BJP has also performed better in terms of contested vote share in seats, which are among the top

10% by urban population in 2009,

2014 and 2019 elections. Prior comparisons cannot be made because of delimitation in 2008. (See chart)

These figures capture the basic political dilemma facing those who attack the BJP of being illiberal. Because of better education and modernity, cities should have a higher proportion of liberal voters. Yet, the BJP performs better in the most urbanised seats in India. Kharge.

Apart from recommending a thorough introspection on the electoral defeat, the CWC also authorised Rahul Gandhi to go for a complete overhaul of the party.

In his speech, former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh suggested setting up a committee to analyse the reasons for the party’s rout in the elections, the Congress’ second successive poor showing in a national election. In 2014 too a committee headed by AK Antony was formed to do just this.

Pitching the election as a secularism versus communalism battle, perceived minority appeasement, strong anti-incumbency against chief ministers and lack of coordination between central and state leadership were some of the reasons cited by the Antony committee for the party’s rout in 2014.

Rahul Gandhi is expected to carry out a major reshuffle of the party at the earliest given that assembly elections in Maharashtra, Haryana, Jharkhand, Jammu and Kashmir and Delhi are due in a few months.

The dominant view in the Congress is that a revival at the national level is possible only when the party resurrects itself in the states.

Delhi-based political analyst N Bhaskara Rao said the Congress should formulate statespecific strategies for its revival. “Rahul Gandhi should maintain a fine balance between veterans and young leaders and utilise their services according to their strengths,” he said.

Addressing a news conference at the party headquarters in Delhi, senior Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad said the CWC members asked Rahul Gandhi to identify the strengths of all the leaders and accordingly assign them new responsibilities.

Accepting the verdict, the grand old party thanked voters and insisted that it will play the role of a constructive opposition and continue to raise people’s issues and hold the government accountable.

“The CWC fully recognises the challenges, the failures and the shortcomings, resulting into this mandate… Congress party has lost the election but our indomitable courage, our fighting spirit and commitment to our ideology remains stronger than ever. We shall continue our fight against forces that thrive on hatred and division,” the resolution said.

Also at the meeting, senior leaders such as Ahmed Patel, P Chidambaram, Captain Amarinder Singh and Azad reiterated the party’s concerns over electronic voting machines.the Congress and other opposition parties are expected to rake up the issue again once the election dust settles down.

The Congress’s chief spokesperson Randeep Singh Surjewala said “the partisan manner” in which the Lok Sabha polls were conducted by the Election Commission was also discussed

Have something to say? Post your comment
More National News
जापानी पीएम शिंजो आबे का प्रस्तावित भारत दौरा रद्द जापान पीएम शिंजो आबे का भारत दौरा रद्द होने पर बोलीं ममता बनर्जी, यह देश के लिए काला धब्बा अर्थव्यवस्था में सुधार के लिए कई कदम उठाए: वित्त मंत्री निर्मला सीतारमण असम: नागरिकता संशोधन कानून के खिलाफ ऑल असम स्टूडेंट्स यूनियन का प्रदर्शन केरल: नागरिकता संशोधन कानून के खिलाफ CPM के नेताओं और कार्यकर्ताओं का प्रदर्शन
नया नागरिकता कानून लागू, जानिए देशभर में किसके लिए क्या बदल गया, Explainer
नागरिकता कानून पर पूर्वोत्तर राज्यों में तनाव, गुवाहाटी और शिलॉन्ग में कर्फ्यू जारी असम: डिब्रूगढ़ में आज सुबह 8 बजे से दोपहर 1 बजे तक कर्फ्यू में ढील नागरिकता संशोधन कानून के खिलाफ पीस पार्टी आज सुप्रीम कोर्ट में दाखिल करेगी याचिका President gives assent to NCT OF DELHI (RECOGNITION OF PROPERTY RIGHTS OF RESIDENTS IN UNAUTHORISED (COLONIES) ACT, 2019