Saturday, December 07, 2019
Follow us on
हैदराबाद एनकाउंटरः NHRC टीम ने किया चारों आरोपियों के शव का निरीक्षण उन्नाव रेप केसः यूपी सरकार पीड़िता के परिवार को देगी 25 लाख की मददउन्नाव रेप केसः पीड़िता के परिवार को 25 लाख के अलावा घर भी देगीझारखंडः दूसरे चरण का मतदान संपन्न, 60.56 फीसदी वोटिंगकिसान कांग्रेस के राष्ट्रीय उपाध्यक्ष सुरेंद्र सोलंकी और किसान कांग्रेस के हरियाणा अध्यक्ष धर्मवीर कोलेखा की संयुक्त प्रेस कांफ्रेंसपंजाब एवं हरियाणा हाईकोर्ट ने जिला एवं सत्र जजों के किए तबादलेझारखंड में वोटिंगः पीएम मोदी की अपील- अधिक से अधिक करें मतदानउन्नाव रेप पीड़िता की मौत पर बोलीं स्वाति मालीवाल-दोषियों को मिले फांसी

BSP-LSP alliance in Hry does better than INLD

May 25, 2019 06:30 AM


BSP-LSP alliance in Hry does better than INLD


The Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party’s (BSP’s) move to ally with former MP Raj Kumar Saini’s Loktantra Suraksha Party (LSP) did not make any impact on the parliamentary elections in Haryna, reveals EC data.

While the BSP won 10 of 80 Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh and is the thrid largest party in Parliament, its alliance with LSP could not win any seat in Haryana. The alliance’s vote share in Haryana was 4.1%, according to EC data.

The alliance was the fourth best performer in the state, falling behind the BJP

(58.02%), the Congress

(28.42%) and the JJP-AAP alliance (5.3%). It did better than the INLD, which got 1.9% votes.

Since his election as the BJP MP from Kurukshetra, Saini had developed a reputation for being a non-Jat leader in Haryana. He was quite vocal in his criticism of Jat community and even spoke out against the BJP. He later quit the BJP and formed LSP in September 2018.

To focus on non-Jat votes, the BSP aligned with the LSP just a couple of months ahead of the Lok Sabha polls. It did this after breaking off its partnership with the INLD, after the party’s poor performance in Jind assembly byelection.

BSP fielded eight candidates and LSP two in the Lok Sabha polls.

Saini was the alliance’s CM face. If the tie-up continues, LSP will field candidates on 65 seats and BSP on 25 seats in the state assembly elections.

BSP’s vote share was the highest in the state in 2009, when it was 16.4%. However, it fell to 4.8% in 2014 Lok Sabha polls. In 1998, the INLDBSP alliance had made an impact in Haryana with BSP MP Aman Kumar Nagra making it to Parliament along with thsoe of the INLD.

As per results, none of the BSP-LSP candidates could make it to the top three on any constituency. Kurukshetra, which was considered to be the stronghold of Raj Kumar Saini, chose Haryana CM’s blue-eyed boy in minister Nayab Singh Saini.

Nayab won by 3 lakh votes over his nearest rival, Nirmal Singh of the Congress. Arjun Chautala finished third, while LSP-BSP candidate Shashi Saini finished fourth.

When contact, Saini said they were analyzing the results. “Let the process be over. Following this, we shall introspect. The alliance is strong as it has been,’’ said Saini

Have something to say? Post your comment