Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Follow us on

Kurukshetra, the battlefield for ‘outsiders’

April 25, 2019 05:48 AM


Kurukshetra, the battlefield for ‘outsiders’


Kurukshetra is apparently the place that brings glory to people who never lived here. This was true even in the days of Mahabharat when the battle between Kauravas and Pandavas of Hastinapura was fought here. In recent times, Kurukshetra has become a political battle ground for outsiders, if one goes by battle of ballots being fought here in the 11general elections held so far.

This year too the trend seems to continue. The three major candidates are outsiders. Nirmal Singh of Congress is from Ambala cantonment, Arjun Chautala is from Sirsa and Nayab Singh Saini from Ambala. D D Sharma of Jannayak Janta Party comes from Kurukshetra parliamentary constituency, not Kurukshetra city.

Except for 1989, 1998 and 1999, when locals had the privilege of being elected to the Lok Sabha, all the MPs elected so far are outsiders. In 1989, Gurdayal Singh Saini had won for Janta Dal, in 1998 Kailasho Saini had won for Haryana Lok Dal and in 1999 Kailasho Saini was re-elected for the Indian National Lok Dal.

Prominent among outsiders who have been elected from here include Gulzari Lal Nanda, who contested and won elections during the period of joint Punjab.

Raghbir Singh, a resident of Karnal, was the first MP in 1977. Manohar Lal from Naranaul was the elected MP in 1980. In 1991, Tara Singh was voted in, industrialist-turned-politician O P Jindal in 1996 and his son Navin Jindal in 2004 and 2009, Raj Kumar Saini, who comes from Naraingarh sub division of Ambala, in 2014.

Senior leaders of all major political parties remained inaccessible for comments. However, unwilling to be identified, local senior leaders of the Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Dal (BJP) have expressed their hurt at being ignored by the party high command.

“We had protested when Raj Kumar Saini was picked in 2014. We could not do more, and now another outsider has come. We have to face people, and not the candidate or the outsiders,” said a district-level BJP leader from Kaithal.

Similarly, another senior leader from Congress also said he was dropped, because the party went ahead and zeroed in on Nirmal Singh.

“We see his candidature as political understanding, as we had so many good leaders after Jindal who refused to contest. Let us see how he fares now,” said the senior Congress leader

Have something to say? Post your comment
More Haryana News
गृह मंत्रालय से मांगी केंद्रीय सशस्त्र पुलिस बलों की 20 कंपनियां
हरियाणा में सिंचाई के लिए माइक्रो सिस्टम से पानी के नुकसान से बचा जा सकेगा- मनोहर लाल मुख्यमंत्री,हरियाणा
धान की खेती में अधिक जल खपत होने पर मक्का आदि की बुवाई से पानी की बचत होगी- मनोहर लाल मुख्यमंत्री, हरियाणा
हरियाणा के मुख्यमंत्री मनोहर लाल ने प्रदेश के सात ब्लाक में जल बचत योजना लागू करने की घोषणा की
मतगणना केन्द्र में पैन, पैंसिल, मोबाईल फोन, चाबी, छल्ला, बीडी-माचिस, चाकू, बैल्ट अथवा कोई भी इलैक्ट्रोनिक उपकरण लेकर जाने पर रहेगा पूर्ण प्रतिबंन्ध:- निर्वाचन अधिकारी एवं उपायुक्त शरणदीप कौर बराड़ हरियाणा में पहली बार की जाएगी इलेक्ट्रॉनिकली ट्रांसमिटिड पोस्ट बैलेट सिस्टम की गणना
हरियाणा पुलिस मुख्यालय पंचकुला के प्रांगण में आतंकवादी विरोधी दिवस मनाया गया
हरियाणा के मुख्यमंत्री मनोहर लाल आज करेंगे प्रेस कॉन्फ्रेंस, शाम 3 बजे हरियाणा निवास में करेंगे प्रेस कॉन्फ्रेंस Aim for assembly, Khattar tells cadre Sacrilege: 5 Dera followers get bail HC Points To Delay In FIR And Arrests