Saturday, August 17, 2019
Follow us on

INLD field’s Abhay’s son from Kurukshetra

April 20, 2019 05:40 AM


INLD field’s Abhay’s son from Kurukshetra


Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) on Friday fielded former leader of opposition Abhay Chautala’s younger son Arjun as its Lok Sabha candidate from Kurukshetra.

Twenty-six-year-old Arjun has no political experience and joined active politics after his estranged cousin and Hisar MP Dushyant Chautala formed Jannayak Janata Party in December last year. Arjun, who studied in prestigious Bishop Cotton School, Shimla and has passed Class XII, was recently made incharge of the INLD student wing. Arjun was actively involved in the INLD campaign during the Jind byelection and had attacked Dushyant and Digvijay Chautala in his speeches at the time.

Abhay’s elder son Karan is vice-chairman of Sirsa zila parishad and looks after INLD’s youth wing. Both the brothers became active in politics after their cousins, Dushyant and Digvijay were thrown out by party patriarch O P Chautala from the INLD last year.

Increase in assets
So far, only seven candidates from the region in fray for Lok Sabha elections have submitted their asset details. A scrutiny of the affidvatis of these seven, who are both from the Congress and the BJP, reveals an asset growth from 26.5% to 287% in five years (from 2014 to 2019). P 4

We have fielded soldiers, farmers, and youths: Arora

Haryana INLD president Ashok Arora announced Arjun’s name in Kurukshetra as party candidate along with those of two ex-servicemen, Dharambir Fauji from Rohtak and Balwan Fauji from Bhiwani-Mahendergarh. With this, the INLD has declared candidates for nine of 10 seats in Haryana. Only Gurgaon candidate is yet to be announced. The Gurgaon candidate’s name is expected soon as April 23 is the last day of filing nominations in Haryana.

The party opted for an ex-serviceman, Dharambir Fauji, who is now a farmer, in Rohtak and claimed he was chosen as he has been an active INLD member for the past 30 years. Another military veteran, Balwan Fauji, who manages a security agency, has been fielded from Bhiwani-Mahendergarh.

Abhay, according to sources, has selected the safest seat to launching Arjun in national politics as Kurukshetra, which includes Kaithal district, has a sizeable number of Jat votes. Abhay had contested the 2004 parliamentary elections from Kurukshetra on an INLD ticket and was the runner-up to industrialist Naveen Jindal of Congress.

The INLD has always been in a dominating position in Kurukshetra. However, no Jat has managed to win from Kurukshetra till now. Arora is also from Kurukshetra and Abhay is banking on him to get non-Jat votes for his son. In 1998-99 and 1999-2004 polls, INLD’s Kailasho Saini was elected from here. In the 2014 polls, INLD candidate Balbir Saini managed to get a decent share of votes and finished second. In 2014, winner Raj Kumar Saini of BJP had vote share of 36.81%, followed by Balbir Saini with 25.39 %. Jindal’s vote share was 25.33%.

Arjun will be contesting against sitting Naraingarh MLA and BJP candidate Nayab Singh Saini in Kurukshetra. The LSP-BSP combine’s candidate is Shashi Saini. But, the Congress and AAP-JJP alliance have not named their candidates from this seat. Jindal has already indicated that he may not be interested in contesting this time.

“We have fielded soldiers, farmers, and youths as our candidates from all the seats in Haryana,” Arora said. “Moving forward on policies of Chaudhary Devi Lal, farmers, soldiers, and youths have been nominated as our candidates, and Chaudhary Devi Lal had shown the door of Vidhan Sabha and Lok Sabha to party’s common workers

Have something to say? Post your comment
More Haryana News
SHO ‘connived with journalist’, used articles to pressurize DCP For Hry ministers Shah is ‘Loh Purush’ Dera chief celebrates b’day with family in Rohtak prison GURGJAON-लापरवाही : पीडब्ल्यूडी मंत्री ने 1 माह में सर्विस लेन सही कराने का आश्वासन दिया था, डेढ़ साल बाद भी नहीं सुधरी सर्व कर्मचारी संघ ने कहा-पक्के की जगह दिया जा रहा कच्चा रोजगार राज्य प्रतिनिधि सम्मेलन पंचकूला में शुरू पीएम 8 को रोहतक में करेंगे जन आशीर्वाद यात्रा का समापन: सीएम शाह की रैली में रेलिंग में करंट आने से मची भगदड़, पंडाल के बाहर उतरवाए काले कपड़े, बेल्ट-घड़ियां घरौंडा नपा चेयरमैन का चुनाव सर्वसम्मति से संपन्न, 18 फरवरी को 13 पार्षदों ने सुभाष गुप्ता के खिलाफ डाला था अविश्वास प्रस्ताव
दिल्ली से अम्बाला राष्ट्रीय राजमार्ग, 20 स्थानों पर लगेंगे उच्च क्षमता के कैमरे
बैंक अब एटीएम में नगदी न होने पर ,पिन गलत और किसी तकनीकी खराबी होने के फ्री ट्रांस्जेक्शन में नहीं गिने जाएंगे --आरबीआई