Saturday, May 25, 2019
Follow us on

Goyal is INLD-BSP mayoral candidate in Yamunanagar Cong to back former dist party president Rakesh Sharma ‘Kaka’

December 05, 2018 05:37 AM


Goyal is INLD-BSP mayoral candidate in Yamunanagar
Cong to back former dist party president Rakesh Sharma ‘Kaka’
Shiv Kumar Sharma

Tribune News Service

Yamunanagar, December 4

Political temperature has risen in Yamunanagar-Jagadhri twin cities with the announcement of the names of mayoral candidates by main political parties for the Municipal Corporation elections.
Sandeep Goyal is the mayoral candidate of the INLD-BSP alliance that has decided to contest the election to the post on the BSP symbol.

INLD state president Ashok Arora and BSP state president Prakash Bharti told mediapersons here on Tuesday that Goyal would be the alliance candidate for the mayoral post. “For the municipal councillor posts, the INLD will field candidates in 13 wards while the BSP candidates will fight elections in nine wards,” said Arora.

Local Congress leaders like former Jagadhri MLA Subhash Chaudhri, former Sadhaura MLA Rajpal Bhukhri, Devender Chawala, Satpal Kaushik, Shyam Sunder Batra and Bhupinder Singh Rana also announced that the party would support Rakesh Sharma ‘Kaka’ on the post of Mayor, as it had decided not to contest the MC elections on its symbol.

Senior Congress leader Devender Chawala said that Rakesh Sharma had been the district party president in the past. “The Congress is united and Rakesh Sharma will win the mayoral election,” he said.

Madan Chauhan is the mayoral candidate of the BJP. Chauhan (52) has been the state president of the Other Backward Classes (OBC) Morcha of the party since 2016. He said that he joined politics as a booth in charge of the BJP in 1996.

“We will register victory as the state government led by Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar has done tremendous development works in Yamunanagar-Jagadhri. Besides, party workers and leaders are united, and will make all efforts to ensure the victory of the BJP candidates,” said Chauhan.

Ashok Arora also announced the names of the INLD-BSP mayoral candidates for a few other districts. The other mayoral candidates of the alliance are Priyanka Kashyap (on INLD symbol) in Panipat; Sanchit Nandal (INLD) in Rohtak and advocate Amit Saini (INLD) in Hisar. Arora said that they would support Asha Vinod Wadhwa in the mayoral election in Karnal.

In Karnal, alliance backs Asha Wadhwa
Parveen Arora

Tribune News Service

Karnal, December 4

The INLD-BSP alliance has announced to support independent candidate Asha Wadhwa, wife of INLD leader Manoj Wadhwa, on the post of Mayor.

Manoj Wadhwa has served as Deputy Mayor in Karnal. He had also contested the last Assembly elections against Manohar Lal Khattar.

Yashvir Rana, district president of the INLD, told The Tribune that on the demand of the workers of both parties, they had requested the party not to field a candidate in Karnal against Manoj’s wife, who is fighting the mayoral election as an independent candidate.

“Manoj is our dedicated worker and his wife has decided to contest the mayoral election as an independent candidate. So, the party has decided not to field a candidate against her,” he added.

Manoj thanked INLD and BSP leaders for their support and said that he was also getting support from senior Congress and BJP leaders. “I am thankful to INLD and BSP leaders for not fielding a candidate against my wife Ashwa. I also thank Congress and BJP leaders for indirectly supporting my wife,” said Manoj.

The BJP has fielded Renu Bala Gupta, who started her campaign officially on Tuesday.

Have something to say? Post your comment